What REALLY is a Soul?

Here are some definitions I found on the internet:

soul[sōl]NOUN

  1. the spiritual or immaterial part of a human being or animal, regarded as immortal. synonyms:psyche · inner self · inner being · essential being · pneuma · anima · ego · id · ka · atman
    • a person’s moral or emotional nature or sense of identity.”in the depths of her soul, she knew he would betray her”synonyms:spirit · psyche · (inner) self · innermost self · (inner) ego · [more]emotional or intellectual energy or intensity, especially as revealed in a work of art or an artistic performance.”their interpretation lacked soul”synonyms:inspiration · feeling · emotion · passion · animation · intensity · fervor · [more]African-American culture or ethnic pride. When a loving cat of mine was very sick and I was petting and consoling him and looking lovingly into his eyes as he lay on the top level of his scratching and relaxing post, an amazing thing happened: while he was looking back at me, with a pleading look in his eyes, he made a sound, and all of a sudden his eyes got totally black and empty, as he had just stopped breathing. The light in his eyes literally went out. I was shocked. I had never seen anything like it. He was gone. My first thought was he had a soul and it was now gone. It really made me realize even animals could have souls. If so, do they cry? Have other emotions? Some answers on the internet state they produce tears but don’t cry like humans. Another view was: “Jan 20, 2017 · A few decades ago, the French zoologist Henri Coupin demonstrated that animals cry for various reasons, particularly when in captivity or when they feel that their lives are in danger. The most sensitive members of the animal kingdom are mammals, especially the young…”. I think about all life forms that have a brain, and so must be able to think and feel right? Ever watched Animal Planet? They have personalities. They take care of each other. Ever hear about a dog losing its owner and just lays there and won’t eat? For some reason we were all given these feelings and emotions. Does that come from our soul? Is that why we sometimes call our spouse our soulmate? A definition from the internet of a soulmate: “NOUNsoulmate (noun)a person ideally suited to another as a close friend or romantic partner.” While I feel my soulmate is gone, at least in the physical sense, I sometimes feel he still here with me. I don’t know how to explain it. It’s a feeling of a presence but nothing tangible. I wish we’d have had a child together. Maybe I would be able to look at that child and be reminded of him more. I don’t have the answers, just the questions. I have one more stop now before I finally get to go home. Maybe, when I do get there, I’ll feel his presence more. Maybe not. Time will tell.

Published by From A Widows Perspective

Losing a spouse is so different than losing another family member. Don’t get me wrong, they are all hard. But with a spouse there is always a constant daily reminder of them. Every meal time, television time, card playing time, morning prayer time. No more anniversaries, grocery shopping together. Meals--how do I cook for just one? I posted this and more on my Facebook page and all my friends and family members that are also widows/widowers responded with their personal perspectives of what they too have been going through. This gave me the idea of starting a blog for all who have lost a spouse to be able to share their experiences and perspectives, what is working for them, and just someone to talk to who truly understands the roller coaster ride they are on. So here we are.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started